Staying Current with Feedly

Michael Whaley –  Seattle
From my March 17, 2015 publication on LinkedIn

I was giving my annual talk to the CISCO students at Seattle Central College a few months ago and my topic was “How to position yourself for a competitive job search once you finish the Network Administration program at SCCC.” In the Q&A I was asked by one of the students how I manage all the information that comes my way to stay current on my industry and technology. I fumbled my answer because I knew I had no way of managing the mass amounts of information the industry provides. I told the student I often find myself oversubscribing to email newsletters and I end up being too busy and deleting them in mass and was still searching for a way to organize my news sources.

Someone in my Information and Risk Management course mentioned Feedly as a good platform to organize newsfeeds. I signed up and then created a list of criteria I was looking for to add to a news feed. I ended up making three categories in Feedly: IT, IT Security, and Managed Service Providers (MSP’s).

My ultimate goal was to create a feed that is industry relevant and/or pertains to small to mid-sized business sizes as well as HIPPA, PCI, healthcare related IT, and IT Security sites. The news sites had to meet one of the following criteria; they were of broad interest and somewhat relevant to IT security, they were directly related to Healthcare IT security, it focused on Small to Mid-sized business security, and the security topic was broad and challenging. If the site was not Feedly compatible or too consumer related and only slightly relevant it was not included. Likewise if the site was too broad and too challenging, it was also not included.

Feeldy’s content search feature is helpful to get you started in finding news sources. As I read through other news sources over time, I add them to the newsfeed content. Feedly can be accessed on smartphones as well as on its web portal. The feature I like best about it is the Chrome plugin. If I find a topic for one of my security talks, I can tag it and reference it later on Feedly.

The final result ended up being a good overview of what is trending in the IT Security sector with specialty topics from multiple sources. For your reference below is my current news feed on Feedly:

michael whaley seattle

Staying Current with Feedly

Leave a comment